Wednesday, 28 June 2017 12:21

Southwest athletic leaders earn year-end awards

Written by  Deb Reamer, Chinook School Division Athletic Co-ordinator
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Saskatchewan High Schools Athletic Association (SHSAA) held its AGM in Humboldt June 21-23. 

The delegation from the southwest included SHSAA President Val Gordon (Eastend), Assistant Director/LEADS Rep Mark Benesh (Chinook SD), Chinook Board Rep Susan Mouland (Vanguard), Officials Rep Tyson Krause (Maple Creek), SWAC President Alisa Cooper (Cabri), SWAC Vice-President Janna Walker (Swift Current Comp), Chinook Administrator Ian Rewcastle (Hodgeville), delegate Chris Sharp (Maple Creek) and Athletic Co-ordinator Deb Reamer. 
Approximately 160 individuals from every part of the province were in attendance. It was a busy two days discussing and voting on resolutions concerning high school sports. Thanks to SHSAA and the hosts from Horizon Central district for an informative conference.
SHSAA, along with Southwest Athletic Conference (SWAC) honour the dedicated individuals who help make high-school sport possible. Each of the 14 districts in the province honour one female coach, one male coach and one official.
The southwest winners for 2016/17 are as follows:
• Female coach — Lori Kendall of Ponteix. Kendall has been a long-time coach in both junior and senior curling;
• Male coach — Len Fyfe of Frontier. Fyfe has coached many high-school sports but his main passions are volleyball and badminton;
• Official — Doug Judiesch of Swift Current. He is a long-time dedicated basketball official.
One person from each district is also selected as the Service Award recipient. This award is presented to an individual who has provided outstanding leadership and service and the promotion of high-school athletics in the District.
This year’s deserving winner is Chris Sharp of Maple Creek. Sharp has taught and coached many high-school sports for 20 years. His passion has always centered round badminton and track and field. Sharp has also served as SWAC president and maintains the website as well as doing track and field entries. He received his award at the SHSAA AGM in Humboldt June 22.
The SHSAA honours a select few individuals every year with the Award of Merit. The Merit Award is to honour people who have given outstanding leadership and service to the SHSAA and to the promotion of high-school athletics in the province. This year one of the recipients was Valerie Gordon of Eastend School. We congratulate her on her 31 years of service to high-school sport. She is a most deserving recipient and joints a list of southwest past winners that include Don and Marilyn Szakacs, Albert Sullivan, Gerry Elmslie, Doug Lyon, Jim Bobick, Larry Lafrentz, Ken Mathers, Rosalie Flynn, Chris Wenner and Tim Miller. We also congratulate Gordon on her return as SHSAA president. She will serve a second term of president from 2017-2019. 
Thank you to the outgoing 2016/17 SWAC executive:
• President Alisa Cooper (Cabri);
• Vice-President Janna Walker (SCCHS);
• Secretary and Officials Commissioner Tyson Krause (Maple Creek);
• Treasurer Trish Carleton (Ponteix).
Welcome to the incoming executive for 2017/18:
• President Janna Walker (SCCHS);
• Vice-President Jennifer Foley (Shaunavon);
• Secretary Talena Scott (Ponteix);
• Treasurer Trish Carleton (Ponteix);
• Officials Comissioner Tyson Krause (Maple Creek). 
As the school year draws to a close, Chinook division officials would like to recognize all athletes, coaches, officials and fans. Have a wonderful summer.

Read 1855 times

More In SW Sask Sports...

More In Entertainment...