Print this page
Sunday, 12 June 2011 18:53

Profit cashes in at 2011 Medicine Hat chuckwagon final

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Prairie Post
Cochrane driver Grant Profit is your Medicine Hat World Professional Chuckwagon Association champion for 2011.

The finals of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede wrapped up on a beautiful Sunday afternoon on a fantastic racetrack and under sunny skies at 24°C. It was a classic sudden death final that featured Grant Profit, Kirk Sutherland and Troy Dorchester. When the dust settled on what was an extremely exciting final, it was Profit, driving the Ja-Co Welding & Consulting outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Doug Thomson who captured the 2011 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.
Coming off barrel number 1 in the feature heat number 12, Profit, driving the Ja-Co Welding & Consulting outfit placed first overall edged Troy Dorchester by a very slight 2 one-hundreds of a second, followed by Kirk Sutherland who placed third from barrel number 2 just 38 one-hundreds of a second behind Profit. It’s the first time Profit has won the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede championship, and for outrider Doug Thomson, it was an extra special moment as he captured his first career show championship with the driver who introduced him to chuckwagon racing a decade ago.
For the third time in the past two days the Medicine Hat Track record fell again as Kurt Bensmiller posted a very rapid 1:00.17 and broke the track record set by Rae Croteau Jr. one day earlier by 17 one-hundreds of a second. Coming off barrel 3 in heat 7, Bensmiller,m driving the Internation Eco Fuel Saver outfit, posted the top time of the day by 38 one-hundreds of a second over Jason Glass who placed second on the day. Jerry Bremner, Kelly Sutherland and Grant Profit rounded out the top five runs of the night.
The WPCA Dodge Pro Tour now moves to Drumheller for the Richard Cosgrave Badlands Dinosaur Derby starting on Friday, June 17 and continuing through to Sunday June 19.


Read 1648 times Last modified on Monday, 04 June 2012 15:10