Friday, 07 June 2013 09:24

Drug Task Force awards highlight community involvement in Swift Current

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Const. Gary Pepin (at left) receives the Emergency Services award from Const. Lindsay Wudrick and Kirstin Rondeau at the Swift Current & District Drug Task Force recognition luncheon on May 30. Const. Gary Pepin (at left) receives the Emergency Services award from Const. Lindsay Wudrick and Kirstin Rondeau at the Swift Current & District Drug Task Force recognition luncheon on May 30. Matthew Liebenberg/Prairie Post

The positive contributions of individuals and organizations in support of local youth were highlighted during the Swift Current & District Drug Task Force recognition luncheon at the Center on May 30.


Const. Lindsay Wudrick, who was a founding member of the Drug Task Force in March 2009, received the community building award.

He continues to be an active member of the Drug Task Force steering committee and he chairs the community justice pillar.

“Lindsay’s focus on community policing has been a tremendous asset to our city,” Drug Task Force Chairperson Danielle Poole said.

Wudrick will soon be leaving the Swift Current RCMP detachment on a transfer to  Saskatoon Major Crimes, but he intends to retire in Swift Current.

“I love the city, I love the people here,” he said. “I would like to come back and still be involved with things in the community.”

He is passionate about the work done by the Drug Task Force in Swift Current.

“It’s important and integral to dealing with the community issue of substance abuse,” he said. “It’s the community building the community, it’s the community getting buy-in and trying to address issues and deal with them before things happen and if they happen to be able to react and respond to things that have happened.”

Const. Gary Pepin received the emergency services award for his efforts to assist troubled youth and people in the community. He has shown strong support for impaired driving enforcement in the city and he took a leading role in the Students Against Drinking and Driving (SADD) group at the high school.

“I’ve been brought forward to receive the award but certainly I’d like to recognize the privilege it’s been to work with other people in the community as well to try and make a positive impact on youth here,” he said.

After four and a half years in Swift Current he will soon be transferring to the RCMP detachment in Radisson.

Tim Bugera received the award for individual leadership. He served on the Drug Task Force steering committee and during his six years on council he advocated for the appointment of a RCMP school liaison officer at the high school, which happened last year.

“With more people coming to the community, with more things happening in the community, also brings maybe a little bit more of the drugs and that kind of stuff to the community,” he said. “So the Drug Task Force is great because they’re out educating our youth on the risks of even trying drugs or being involved with drugs and they work very closely with the RCMP.”

With the school liaison officer in place, he felt it is time to consider the need for increased policing of city streets, either through more RCMP members or other alternatives.

“In a city that’s growing it’s time to maybe look at adding members to get boots on the street so that they can work with the youth against the drug issues,” he said. “A lot of it is visibility and being around.”

Addictions counsellor Chris Evans received the professional dedication award for her compassionate efforts to help people struggling with addiction issues. She has over 14 years of professional experience in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

“It means a lot to have the community see what I’ve done, it’s very humbling,” she said. “There's so many aspects to my job that are rewarding. I love working with individuals, with families, with the community members.”

Parker Houghtaling received the youth award for her desire and willingness to give back to the community. She is a positive role model who stands up to bullying and supports youth at risk.

Student leader Shawn Wiskar was presented with the youth leadership award. He plays an active role on the Swift Current Youth Advisory Council as well as the Southwest Street Culture Housing Committee.

Innovation Credit Union received the business award for outstanding leadership in the community and the Lyric Theatre was recognized with the community programming award for hosting many youth friendly events that also allow young people to showcase their talents.

Read 7138 times Last modified on Friday, 07 June 2013 09:31
Matthew Liebenberg


More Swift Current News...