Friday, 07 December 2012 11:07

Swift Current mayor elected vice-chair of provincial City Mayors Caucus

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Swift Current Mayor Jerrod Schafer has been elected Vice-Chair of the Saskatchewan City Mayors Caucus (CMC).


The CMC recently wrapped up meetings in Regina, which included a meeting with the Provincial Cabinet and getting to know newly elected Mayors throughout the province. The CMC is comprised of the mayors of Saskatchewan’s 16 cities.

Schafer’s election to Vice-Chair means that he will assume a leadership role in advocating a strong voice for growth and the needs of cities moving forward.

“I am humbled at the confidence my provincial colleagues have placed in me, and I’ve always thought a lot of this group and feel that I learn something each time we meet,” said Schafer. “There is great perspective from the entire province with our largest partners, Saskatoon and Regina, to smaller and newer cities such as Meadow Lake and Warman. We have a lot in common in terms of looking for solutions on common challenges or gaining optimism by learning from each other’s successes.”

Mayor Malcolm Eaton of Humboldt was elected Chair advancing from the Vice-Chair position. Eaton replaced former CMC Chair Jim Scarrow.

“Strong and growing cities are good for everyone in Saskatchewan,” said Schafer. “I’m supportive of Saskatoon and a Regina booming and growing their services, that’s good for us. When cities are growing it means the province is growing, and that benefits everyone.”

Saskatchewan cities, and municipalities in close proximity, continue to see population and housing starts increase and this trend will continue as the province looks to attract more newcomers and continues to grow. This will continue to create challenges for cities in areas of housing, infrastructure and an increased demand for services.

Read 1854 times Last modified on Friday, 07 December 2012 11:29

More Swift Current News...