Tuesday, 27 February 2018 05:57

Swift Current teams, players dominant in 2018 SaskTel Soccer 4 Life Indoor Youth 6-Aside Provincial Championships

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)
U15's Jaycee Berggren (14) and Alexandria Metke (right) storm the keeper. U15's Jaycee Berggren (14) and Alexandria Metke (right) storm the keeper. Andrea Carol

Saskatchewan Soccer Association (SSA)'s SaskTel Soccer For Life Youth Indoor 6-Aside Provincial Championships took place in Moose Jaw, SK on February 23 to 25.

The SSA would like to thank Moose Jaw Soccer Association for hosting the event, the spectators for their support, and our sponsors, SaskTel, Soccer Locker, Visit Moose Jaw and Ramada Moose Jaw for their partnership in hosting.
The format for the Soccer For Life Youth Indoor 6-aside Provincial Championships included the tracking for the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. This is determined by the coaches ranking the top two opposing team's athletes in each game throughout the tournament. At the end of the tournament, the player with the most points is the Tournament (age group) MVP. A Team Fair-Play Award is also presented. The Award is based on the determined scores of the officials on the conduct of the players, coaches and fans of each team during each match. A cumulative team score is recorded throughout the course of round-robin play.

For more on the tournament, complete with more photos, see this week's edition of Prairie Post.

 Under 15 Girls                                                                 
Gold: Meridian Rustlers, Lloydminster, SK                          
Silver: Swift Current United, Swift Current                         
MVP: Jasmine Temoshawsky, Swift Current United       
Team Fair Play Award Recipient: Aurora Lightning, Saskatoon                 
 Under 15 Boys
Gold: Melfort Internationale, Melfort
Silver: Yorkton United FC, Yorkton
MVP: Makariy Pryadko, Excelsior FC, Moose Jaw           
Team Fair Play Award Recipient: Moose Jaw Storm, Moose Jaw
Under 17 Girls                                                                 
Gold: Swift Current United, Swift Current                          
Silver: Yorkton United, Yorkton
MVP: Sara Becker, Yorkton United FC                                   
Team Fair Play Award Recipient: Yorkton United FC, Yorkton                   
Under 17 Boys 
Gold: Excelsior FC, Moose Jaw 
Silver: Battlefords United FC, Battlefords
MVP: Drayden Stone, Battlefords United FC
Team Fair Play Award Recipient: Excelsior FC, Moose Jaw

Congratulations to the winners in each category. Thank you to the teams who traveled from all corners of the province to attend the Provincial Championships.
For further details about this event, please contact Jennifer Ellarma, SSA Coordinator
of Communications and Funds Development at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , or 306-519-9093.

Read 325 times Last modified on Wednesday, 28 February 2018 15:33

More Swift Current News...