Print this page
Thursday, 19 October 2017 11:09

Proud moment Oct. 20 at the Art Gallery for those earning Canada 150 Medals

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)

David Anderson, Cypress Hills - Grasslands MP will honour 34 southwest Sask. citizens by presenting them with the Celebrate Canada 150 medal.

A reception for the medal recipients will take place on Friday, October 20, at 7 p.m. at the Swift Current Art Gallery, located in the Library at 411 Herbert Street E. at 7 p.m. the reception begins and at 7:15 p.m. there's a  program and medal presentations. Anderson, chose to celebrate Canada’s 150th Birthday by honouring citizens with the Celebrate Canada 150 medal.  These medals will be presented to citizens of the Cypress Hills Grasslands constituency who have been builders, who have brought people together into strong, thriving communities.  Amongst the categories:
• Nation Builders:These are the pioneers and their children who created the foundations communities need – businesses and farms, service clubs and churches, fire halls etc.
• Veterans:These are the people who have protected and continue to protect the communities we have built by risking their lives to defend and protect our sovereignty.
• Tomorrow’s Canada:Do you know someone under 20 who has a vision of their community in the future? Whose passion and commitment has led them to work with others?
• Bridge Builders:These are the people who give tirelessly through their service clubs, businesses, sports organizations, and cultural groups.
• Newcomers Building Canada
Amongst the winners include: Mohamed Abdelhamid-Swift Current; Lindsay Alliban-Hazlet; Rod Appleby-Caronport; Dr. Blayne Banting-Caronport; Joy Barsness-Frontier; Maksym Bilan-Swift Current; Dallas Block-Shaunavon; Wilfred Boon-Lucky Lake; Michael Evans-Smith -Swift Current; Evelyn Fossum-Frontier; Timothy Geiger-Leader; Marilyn Geron Geoffrion-Gravelbourg; Bula Ghosh-Swift Current; Gordon Hartley-Swift Current; Mabel Hobbs-Maple Creek; Glenn Honey-Frontier; Greg Honey-Frontier; Roy King-Birsay; Peggy Koethler-Swift Current; Tom Luchenski-Lucky Lake; Dr. Paul Magnus-Caronport; Janise Michel-Eastend; Brad Nelson-Frontier; Darlene Nicholson-Swift Current; Gerald Olson-Swift Current; Dr. Maria Cristina Pennington-Lucky Lake; Jacqueline Powell-Swift Current; Lori Ries-Eston; Shelly Rusnell-Riverhurst; Millie Spagrud-Gull Lake; Toos Giesen Stefiuk-Gravelbourg; Jason Tangen-Swift Current; Jerry Wiens-Beechy and We Day Committee, Eastend School-Eastend.

Read 396 times