• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 74
Print this page
Friday, 13 May 2011 10:23

Hazlet up for two Sask. Municipal Awards

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The finalists for the fifth annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards program have been announced with the awards being handed later May 13 and the Village of Hazlet is up for two of the five categories.

With a new record of 28 groups applying for the awards, the independent selection committee consisting of Senator Pamela Wallin, Bob Linner (former City Manager for Regina and Prince Albert), Regina Leader Post political columnist Murray Mandryk, Holly Hetherington (Senior Partner, Executive Source), and Jim Angus (Administrator of the RM of Harris No. 316) reviewed the finalists’ achievements and selected award recipients in each of the categories.

The finalists in each category are:

Municipal Innovation and Service Excellence:
• Northeast Quadrant – Economic Restructuring and Maintenance of Regional Bridge System
• Village of Hazlet - Wind Powered Rink Complex

Regional Leadership and Partnerships
• RM of Estevan – Save Creighton Lodge
• Towns of Rosthern, Hague, Duck Lake, Waldheim, RMs of Duck Lake, Rosthern, and Laird, and Villages of Hepburn and Laird – Doctor/Medical Professionals’ Residence.

Community Development Leadership
• Resort Village of Island View – Municipal Land Use Policy
• Town of Kindersley – Kindersley Youth Council.

Environmental Stewardship
• Town of Dundurn, RM of Dundurn, and Resort Villages of Thode and Shields – Joint Sanitary Sewer System
• Village of Hazlet – Wind Powered Rink Complex.

Heritage Conservation Leadership
• City of Humboldt – Humboldt’s Heritage Values
• Town of Gravelbourg – The Renaissance Gaiety Theatre Project.
The winners will be announced at the Saskatchewan Municipal Awards luncheon on May 13th at the Ramada Hotel in Regina.

Saskatchewan Municipal Awards
Established in 2006,The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards (SMA) celebrate the excellent and innovative practices of Saskatchewan’s municipal governments. 
The awards showcase municipal practices that demonstrate:
    •    good governance;
    •    effective management;
    •    consistent public engagement;
    •    innovation;
    •    significance;
    •    transferability;
    •    sustainability; and
    •    capacity building.
The SMA program also aims to promote the successes of Saskatchewan’s municipal sector to all of Saskatchewan.
View our photo and video galleries to see what's happened in the last few years.
The 2010 Saskatchewan Municipal Awards presented May 14th, 2010 – Winning Municipalities
The SMAs invite you to showcase your municipality 
and submit a nomination.

Read 1069 times