Tuesday, 06 September 2011 09:02

Alberta leadership race now open for voting

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

On Monday, September 5, 2011 the online and telephone polls will in the Alberta Liberal Party Leadership Race. 27 567 voters who registered before August 19 will be eligible to vote online or by telephone by using a secure PIN number. All voters also have the opportunity to vote at one of seven in-person polling stations which will be open on September 10.

Voting stations will be available in Edmonton, Calgary, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Medicine Hat, Grande Prairie and Fort McMurray. Online, telephone and in-person will cease at 4:00 pm on Saturday, September 10.

Five individuals campaigned tirelessly across the province this summer. The five candidates are: Laurie Blakeman, MLA for Edmonton Centre; Bill Harvey, financial services manager and former organizer for Laurence Decore; Hugh MacDonald, MLA for Edmonton Gold Bar; Bruce Payne, former President of the Building Trades of Alberta Southern Council and Dr. Raj Sherman, MLA for Edmonton Meadowlark.

The announcement of the successful candidate will be made on Saturday, September 10 at the Alberta Liberal Party’s official Leadership Convention Event. The event will be held at the University of Alberta in the Main Gym of the Van Vliet Centre.

Media are invited to attend to this event to hear the announcement of the new leader.

Read 813 times

More Alberta News...