Friday, 16 December 2011 10:11

Critical Transmission Review Committee to go over submissions at January stakeholders meetings

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Courtesy Alberta Energy
Key stakeholders have been invited to make submissions as part of the review by the Critical Transmission Review Committee. The committee, which was appointed by the Alberta government, is conducting an independent review of plans for two high-voltage transmission lines between the Edmonton and Calgary regions. 

To date, 36 groups representing landowners, electricity producers, and large and small consumers, have been invited to provide written submissions by Jan. 6, 2012. These groups will have an opportunity to present their conclusions and observations directly to the committee, and answer any questions from the committee, in a public forum.

Included in that group are the civic governments of major urban Alberta centres including Medicine Hat and Lethbridge but as well energy producers including TransAlta, ATCO, EPCOR, Alberta Federation of Rural Electrification Associations, Alberta Landowners Council, FortisAlberta, ENMAX, Municipality of Crowsnest Pass, Town of Cardston and Town of Fort Macleod.

The committee has begun its review and has already had several briefings from the Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO). The AESO has provided the committee with background information on the role of the AESO, the Alberta electricity market, policies and legislation, transmission development, and a detailed history and overview of the North-South transmission lines. Audio recordings of these meetings will be posted online.

The committee will conduct meetings, with stakeholder groups who have been asked to present, in Calgary Jan. 10-12 and in Edmonton Jan. 18-20. The time and location of the presentations have not yet been determined. Details, along with a record of all stakeholder submissions and meetings, will be posted at 

Chaired by Brian Heidecker, the committee also includes Dr. Roy Billinton, Dr. Joseph Doucet, and Henry Yip. The committee must provide a report to Minister of Energy Ted Morton by Feb. 10, 2012.

The report will include the committee’s comments and recommendations regarding the reasonableness of several key elements of the AESO’s north-south transmission reinforcement plan and amendments to the Electric Statutes Amendment Act, 2009 (formerly Bill 50).

Read 431 times

More Alberta News...