Print this page
Thursday, 31 May 2012 15:24

Southwest Sask. families to receive ISC Family Farm Awards in Swift Current June 5

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Information Services Corporation (ISC) is recognizing 421 Saskatchewan families with an ISC Century Family Farm Award at ceremonies being held June 4-7. The annual award recognizes farm families who have continuously farmed or ranched their land for 100 years or more.

"The ISC Century Family Farm Award celebrates the traditions and heritage that have shaped our province," Minister responsible for ISC Tim McMillan said. "Family farms and ranches are not just an important part of our past, they continue to be a vital part of the economy and culture of Saskatchewan. I congratulate each of the recipients on their remarkable achievement."
As the safe keeper of important historical documents that include land grants and titles, geographic maps and photos and survey information, ISC formally records Saskatchewan history. By managing the annual award program, ISC celebrates that history and gives back to people and communities across rural Saskatchewan.
The local luncheon event will be held in early June to honour recipients, each starting at 12 p.m. including in Swift Current: Tuesday, June 5 in the Auditorium at the Credit Union iplex.
Each recipient family receives their choice of a free indoor wall plaque or a cedar gate sign at a reduced price, as well as a high-quality colour re-production of their ancestor's original land grant or title and 12 commemorative certificates.
 ISC and the Saskatchewan Archives Board will do all necessary research on each applicant's behalf, free of charge.
For a complete list of 2012 ISC Century Family Farm Award recipients, see the attached backgrounder, or visit
Recipient Name City
Basil Hubert, Abbey
Glenn Hughes, Abbey
Mark Hughes, Abbey
Roger Duclos, Admiral
Neal and Lynn Galey, Admiral
Jean Garthus, Admiral
Allen and Carl Lind, Admiral
Daniel Ruest, Admiral
Tyler Wilson, Admiral
Arthur Corbin, Aneroid
Geraldine and Allan Oliver, Aneroid
Cecil Bowman, Beechy
Doremis Krause and Eleanor Caswell, Bracken
Velda McGuire, Bracken
Frederick Peakman, Bracken
Raymond Duclos, Cadillac
Russel and Rita Nordwick, Cadillac
Glen Scandrett, Chaplin
Jeff Hyam, Claydon
Alan Balfour, Climax
Lewis Backman, Consul
Paul Heglund, Consul
Larry McMillan, Consul
Martin McMillan, Consul
Randy Olson, Consul
Louise and June Stetar, Consul
Paul Swihart, Consul
David and Nancy Weisgerber, Consul
Lorne Zentner, Consul
Walter and Jeffrey Hyam, Eastend
Grant Taylor, Eastend
William Busby, Eatonia
David Hummel, Eatonia
Kenny Somerville, Eatonia
Wayne Booker, Empress
Kelly Bakanec, Fox Valley
Ronald, Nick and Agnes Buye, Fox Valley
James Deis, Fox Valley
Larry and Jeanette Garrecht, Fox Valley
Collin Greenwald, Fox Valley
Jason Steinkey, Fox Valley
Murray Steinkey, Fox Valley
Bill and Dianna Mapletoft, Frenchman Butte
Greg and Joanne Ruetz, Gull Lake
Joan Anderson, Hazlet
Terence Bailey, Hazlet
Glenn, Jean and Eva Koehler, Hazlet
Brian Opheim, Hazlet
Leslie Todd, Hazlet
Randi Wilson, Hazlet
Brian Cornelson, Herbert
Ross and Cynthia Straub, Hilda
Marvin Brown, Hodgeville
Kay Gauthier, Kyle
Bernard Garrecht, Leader
Sandra Jensen, Leader
Corinne Neigum, Leader
Brian Barker, Mankota
Glen and Darla Briere, Mankota
Greg Rieder, Mankota
Henry Sperlie, Mankota
Edward Hammer, Maple Creek
Daniel Heller, Maple Creek
Monica Jacobsen, Maple Creek
Ross and Roy Martin, Maple Creek
Angus McDougald, Maple Creek
George Opsal, Maple Creek
Loree Redick, Maple Creek
Kristine Scheller and Roxanna White, Maple Creek
Calvin Siegle, Maple Creek
Bruce Gall, Morse
Alvin, Bob and Lionel Olynick, Morse
Bruce Mouland, Pambrun
Robert Gaunt, Pennant
David and Cindy Gorrill, Ponteix
Stan and Shirley Schuler, Richmound
Howard Solie, Richmound
Gary Ewen, Riverhurst
George Howell, Robsart
Roger Thompson, Robsart
Alistair Tillier, Robsart
Richard Davis, Shaunavon
Richard Hardin, Shaunavon
Glen Krause, Shaunavon
Conrad Sandberg, Shaunavon
Blair Seafoot, Shaunavon
Eileen and Owen Sebastian, Shaunavon
Brian Stevenson, Shaunavon
Merle and Morley Stephenson, Simmie
Clarke McConnell, Stewart Valley
Steven Wellsch, Stewart Valley
Gordon Beisel, Swift Current
Mickeal Berteig, Swift Current
Myron Cobler, Swift Current
Sharon Fonger, Swift Current
Gary Hinther, Swift Current
Ray Lacroix, Swift Current
Jeanette Laybourne, Swift Current
Melanie and Scott Leppa, Swift Current
Norris Rya, Swift Current
Margaret Sillerud, Swift Current
Dean Thomson, Swift Current
Ardell Tuntland, Swift Current
Morley Murray, Tompkins
Helen Schriver, Webb
Glenn and Barbara HoldingWymark

Read 8767 times Last modified on Thursday, 31 May 2012 15:35