Print this page
Thursday, 10 November 2016 05:55

Alberta Beef Producers delegate election results

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Official counting of the ballots took place November 9. Zone 3 was the only zone with an election this year. The remaining eight zones elected delegates by acclamation with vacancies in Zones 2, 4, 5 and 9. The election took place during the Alberta Beef Producers (ABP) Fall Producer Meetings held across Alberta in October and November.

“We are a producer organization and our greatest strength is the contribution of grassroots producers who become delegates and directors of the organization. Elections are a fundamental element of a democratic organization and we are pleased to have had at least one election for zone delegates this year. We encourage producers to get involved and fill the positions we still have available. We look forward to the fresh input new representatives offer and thank them for their interest in the industry and ABP,” said Rich Smith, ABP Executive Director.
ABP represents the collective interests of Alberta’s beef cattle producers and is a proud reflection of this industry. Run by producers for producers, ABP is dedicated to enhancing the image of the beef and beef producers industry, educating the beef consumer, driving the sale of Alberta Beef, and maintaining a truly sustainable, competitive industry for the benefit of all Albertans.
Below is a list of all ABP delegates for the 2015/16 year. The names with an asterix represent delegates who were elected, acclaimed or appointed during this election.
Zone 1
    •    *Brodie Haugan – Orion
    •    *Garth Porteous – Bow Island
    •    Brad Osadczuk – Jenner
    •    Kevin Stopanski – Jenner
    •    Rick Friesen – Vauxhall
    •    Howard Bekkering – Vauxhall
Zone Two:
    •    *Fred Lozeman – Claresholm
    •    Bob Lowe – Nanton
    •    Darren Bevans – Raymond
    •    Tyler Sawley – Nanton
Zone Three:
    •    *Heinz Lemmer – Calgary
    •    *Kevin Krebs – Didsbury
    •    Chris Israelson – Didsbury
    •    Jeff Havens – Madden
    •    John Buckley – Cochrane
    •    Bryan Thiessen – Strathmore
Zone Four:
    •    *Garth Johnson – Killam
    •    *Walter Suntjens – Hanna
    •    Judy Fenton – Irma
    •    Tim Smith – Coronation
    •    Mark Crowle – Hanna

Read 1613 times