Work on the construction of a new covered walkway at the Cypress Regional Hospital in Swift Current got under way this week. This morning the existing concrete was removed. Safety fencing has been installed around the work area and the hospital's main entrance will be closed for the duration of the construction. The Cypress Health Region has asked the public to use the Emergency Department entrance as the temporary main entrance.


The 11 candidates running for six council seats in the City of Swift Current had an opportunity to state their case to residents during an all-candidates forum on Oct. 10 at the Living Sky Casino's Sky Centre. The event was hosted by the Swift Current and District Chamber of Commerce.

Mayor Jerrod Schafer, who has been acclaimed, made a few opening remarks. The candidates each received an opportunity to make position statements. This was followed by a question and answer session that gave residents an opportunity to raise issues of interest to them. The civic election will take place on Oct. 24.

The candidates were seated behind two tables. Sitting at the table on the left (from left to right) are: George Bowditch, Gord Budd, Tim Bugera, Joe Collinson, Pat Friesen and Dan Martens. Seated at the table on the right (from left to right) are: Keleah Ostrander, Denis Perrault, Ryan Plewis, Jayson Sletten and Ron Toles.




On its 4,100 kilometre journey across Canada to the 100th Grey Cup game in Toronto on Nov. 25, the Grey Cup 100 Train Tour made a stop in Swift Current on Sept. 26. The 302 metre, 730 ton train showcases the history and lore of the championship and provides fans with an opportunity to have their photos taken with the famous cup. Saskatchewan Roughrider alumnus Roger Aldag from Gull Lake was the special guest at the train's Swift Current stop.


Speedy Creek Racing Association hosted their final race of the season on Sunday afternoon, Sept. 23. In addition to the feature winners, the day's racing determined the 2012 points champions.

Points Champions:

Trucks - #59 Jen Schultz

Hobbies - #24 Murray Koethler

Streets - #98 Daryl Kehler

Mods - #46 Jason Duclos

Feature winners for Sept. 23:

Trucks - #03 Coty Smith, #01 Stuart Johnson, #59 Jen Schultz, #81 Dwayne Kraus

Hobbies - #11 Tyson Crowe, #8 Brody Crowe, #88 Trevor Monk, #44 Kevin Schafer

Streets - #35 Mike Dionne, #98 Daryl Kehler, #23 Troy Hunter, #86 Bradley Kehler

IMCA Modifieds - #46 Jason Duclos, #9 Roger Bonneville, #45 Trent Guest, #4R

Page 88 of 90