Print this page
Monday, 14 April 2014 11:05

Midnight Roses win at SCMAs

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Swift Current music gets yet another feather in its collective cap as the Midnight Roses were recognized at the Saskatchewan Country Music Association awards April 14 in Nipawin.

The Midnight Roses won the Rising Star Award with Myshel Pajuaar and Eliza Doyle accepting the award
The weekend got underway on Friday with the New Artist Showcase and Kick-Off Party.
April 14 was the SCMA AGM, Youth Showcase, music seminars, SCMA President’s Banquet & Industry Awards and Cabaret with Doc Walker.

Sunday was a full schedule with the Country Gospel Showcase & Brunch, Roots Café, Songwriter’s Circle, 25th Annual SCMA Awards Gala with Charlie Major and Awards After Party.
Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year – Codie Prevost

Female Vocalist of the Year – Jess Moskaluke

Male Vocalist of the Year – Codie Prevost

Group of the Year – Wyatt

Rising Star Award – The Midnight Roses

Song of the Year (Composer) – Don’t Miss Your Kiss Goodbye – Chris Henderson, Troy Kokol, Willie Mack

Single of the Year – Good Lovin’ – Jess Moskaluke

Video of the Year – Jesse James – Wyatt

Album of the Year – Shoulda Been Here Last Night – Wyatt

Country Gospel Album of the Year – Not Unto Us – The Trudel Family
Aboriginal Artist of the Year – Yvonne St. Germaine

Roots Artist/Group of the Year – Eli Barsi

Roots Album of the Year – Portrait of a Cowgirl – Eli Barsi

All Star Band (Guitar) – Rich McFarlane
All Star Band (Bass) – Al Leblanc

All Star Band (Drums) – Hal Schrenk

All Star Band (Keys) – Bart McKay

All Star Band (Fiddle) – Donny Parenteau

All Star Band (Specialty) – Rich McFarlane

Record Producer – Bart McKay

Recording Studio – Mosaic Music
Manager of the Year – Al Leblanc and Tera Maguire

Country Music Person of the Year – Stephen Maguire

Fan’s Choice Radio Station (Major Market) – CJWW – Saskatoon

Fan’s Choice Radio Station (Secondary Market) – GX94 – Yorkton

Music Director (Major Market) – Jason Lee – CJWW – Saskatoon

Music Director (Secondary Market) – Danny Ismond – GX94 – Yorkton

On Air Personality (Major Market) – Don Mitchell – CKBI – Prince Albert

On Air Personality (Secondary Market) – Danny Ismond – GX94 – Yorkton

Radio Show of the Year – Timberline Music Show – Larry Krause – Shaw

SCMA Achievement Award – Codie Prevost
SCMA Humanitarian Award – Stephen Maguire

SCMA Legends & Legacy Award – Dave Baker

SCMA Youth Development Bursary – The Hart Boys and Lane Shields

Multi-CCMA award winning band Doc Walker headlined the Saskatchewan Country Music Association (SCMA) Awards Weekend Cabaret on Saturday, Apr. 12 at The Evergreen Convention Centre in Nipawin, Sask.
Six-time SCMA group of the year WYATT will also perform that night. The two groups join already-announced Charlie Major who will be hosting the Awards Show the next night, as well as numerous other Saskatchewan acts to be announced in the coming weeks.   The town of Nipawin has also declared Apr. 7-13 “Country Music Week”! Saskatchewan’s top and emerging country artists will be taking over the town.
In addition to the Cabaret and Awards Show, events include: Kick Off Party, New Artist Showcase, Youth Showcase, Songwriter’s Circle, Country Gospel Show & Brunch, Roots Café, President’s Banquet & Industry Awards, Awards After Party and music seminars. All events are open to the public.

Read 8310 times Last modified on Tuesday, 15 April 2014 15:17