Wednesday, 02 September 2015 16:13

New season of Blenders features an eclectic mix

Written by  Contributed
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Hawksley Workman Hawksley Workman

Blenders regular season has a total of 11 great concerts.


Some new exciting bands taking park include Scarlett Jane, Bros Landreth and Good for Grapes as well as bands who have been around a long time and are still putting out relevant new music such as The Skydiggers and the David Francey Band, and incredible storytellers like John Wort Hannam.
This season will also feature a Saskatchewan Songwriters Circle with Jason Plumb, Danny Olliver, and Megan Nash.
The following is the schedule:
• The Skydiggers — Saturday, Sept. 26;
• Scarlett Jane — Friday, Oct. 2;
• The Bros Landreth with Donovan Wood — Monday, Oct. 26;
• Good for Grapes — Saturday, Nov. 7;
• Dan Mangan — Saturday, Nov. 28;
• JP Hoe Band — Saturday, Jan. 23;
• The Stray Birds — Saturday, Feb. 13;
• Jason Plumb, Danny Olliver, Megan Nash — Saturday, March 19;
• David Francey Band — Thursday, March 24;
• John Wort Hannam – Saturday, Apr. 16;
• Slow Leaves with Leaf Rapids  —Saturday, Apr. 30.
Regular price for all 11 concerts is $345. A season pass is $300, which is like getting two concerts for free). A limited number of season passes are available at Pharmasave.
Reserve tables of eight are available for the entire season. Phone Shann Gowan for information and to reserve a table.  A limited number will be sold.
Special Extra Concerts
As a special addition to the 2015-2016 Blenders Art+Music Concert Season, there are also four special concerts.
VIP table seating will be available for these non-season events.
Hawksley Workman and his full band will perform his newest rock album with the amazing Fiona Bevan as the opening act.
Andy Kim will present new music created with Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew as well as his No. 1 hits. Jarvis Church, frontman for The Philosopher Kings, and his band The Soul Station will perform fantastic soul music.
Finally Canadian icons, 54•40 will perform 30 years of great music in a special unplugged format.
Following is the schedule for the above-listed concerts:
• Hawksley Workman with Fiona Bevan — Saturday, Oct. 17;
• Andy Kim — Friday, Oct. 23;
• Jarvis Church and The Soul Station — Thursday, Dec. 3;
• 54•40 Unplugged — Thursday, Jan. 28;
Individual concert tickets are $40 at Pharmasave.
Specials Pack — four for the price of three — is only $120.
A limited number of specials packages are available as well as a limited number of tables of eight.
Reserve tables of eight for special concerts by phoning Gowan at 306-778-2686 or e-mail:  srgowan@ yourlink.ca.

Read 3596 times

More In Entertainment...