Matthew Liebenberg

Matthew Liebenberg


Harvest time will have a special significance for staff at Rock Solid Refuge this fall when the crop planted for its new fundraising initiative will be gathered.

The Royal Saskatchewan Museum (RSM) is still conducting its summer long survey of wildlife in southwest Saskatchewan, but there is already a possibility a new bee species has been collected in the Cypress Hills.

The official unveiling and dedication ceremony of a monument to honour 16 Métis war veterans from Lac Pelletier took place Aug. 3 at Lac Pelletier Regional Park.

The recent progress with planning for a new long-term care facility in Swift Current was welcomed with enthusiastic applause by board members at a regular Cypress Regional Health Authority board meeting July 31.

The official unveiling and dedication ceremony of a monument to honour 16 Métis war veterans from Lac Pelletier took place on Aug. 3 at Lac Pelletier Regional Park. The creation of the monument is an initiative of the Prairie Dog Métis Local 123 Association to keep the memory alive of those Métis men and women who left their families in Lac Pelletier Valley to serve Canada in the First and Second World War and the Korean War. Families of these veterans came from all over western Canada to attend the event and to lay wreaths. Speakers at the event included Prairie Dog Métis Local 123 President Cecile Blanke, Métis National Council President Clem Chartier, Métis Nation of Saskatchewan Vice President Gerald Morin, former Lac Pelletier Regional Park Board Chair John Froese and Veterans Affairs Canada representative Bonnie Heidt.

The 19th annual Mennonite Heritage Village Watermelon Festival took place in Swift Current on July 28, 2013. Visitors enjoyed  slices of cold watermelon in combination with “roll kuchen”or rolled cookie, which is a deep-fried pastry prepared in large vats of boiling oil. The festival is the main fundraising event for the village and funds are used for the upkeep of the homestead and church. The Mennonite Heritage Village, which is located next to Kinetic Park, is open from 1 to 6 p.m. on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays until September 2.


The Speedy Creek Racing Association hosted two races during the past weekend. The scheduled race took place on Saturday evening, July 27, and the Sunday afternoon race, July 28, was a rescheduled event for a race that was rained out on June 15.
Saturday, July 27, Feature race results:
Trucks – 1st #13 Rene Panasiuk; 2nd #03 Coty Smith; 3rd #01 Stuart Johnson; 4th #17 Chris Daniel for Jenn Schultz.
Hobbies – 1st #11T Tyson Crowe; 2nd #7 Carson Crowe; 3rd #5 Destiny Klym; 4th #24 Murray Koethler.
Streets – 1st #35 Mike Dionne; 2nd #98 Daryl Kehler; 3rd #5K Stefan Klym; 4th #86 Bradley Kehler.
Modifieds – 1st #10 Dave Dease; 2nd #59 John Barber; 3rd #45 Trent Guest; 4th #46 Jason Duclos.
Sunday, July 28 Feature race results:
Trucks – 1st #03 Coty Smith; 2nd #13 Rene Panasiuk; 3rd #17 John Barber for Jenn Schultz; 4th #01 Stuart Johnson.
Hobbies – 1st #5 Destiny Klym; 2nd #88 Trevor Monk; 3rd #11 T Tyson Crowe; 4th #96 Dave Koethler.
Streets – 1st #35 Mike Dionne; 2nd #5 K Stefan Klym; 3rd #44 Kevin Schafer; 4th #98 Daryl Kehler.
Photographs show racing action from the very dusty feature races on Sunday afternoon, July 28.


The annual soapbox derby has been a popular Father's Day activity in Swift Current for the past 30 years, but this year's event was rained out and rescheduled to July 21. There were a total of 24 participants, with 13 junior and 11 senior racers. Below are the race results.

Junior A: 1st Kara Johner; 2nd Austin Calkins; 3rd Kiern Fielding; 4th William Prescesky.

Junior B: 1st Keegan Byers; 2nd Hannah Amundson; 3rd Keith Adam; 4th Nathan Byers.

Senior A: 1st Amisha Hockridge; 2nd Tristan Byers; 3rd Allison Fleck; 4th Krishin Hockridge.

Senior B: 1st Quenton Bucheler; 2nd Cole Wiebe; 3rd Justin Fehr; 4th Gaige Calkins.


Dirt racing fans finally got to see some action again in Swift Current after last month’s race was rained out. Rain also played a role this weekend, as the Saturday night race had to be rescheduled to Sunday afternoon, June 14. But the previous day’s rain helped to create a smooth looking track. This race was fan appreciation day and racing drivers were on hand during intermission to serve treats to fans in the stand. The racers also provided good entertainment on the track with close racing by the trucks, hobby stocks and street stocks. The winners of the feature races were:

Trucks – 1st #17 Chris Daniel (for Jenn Schultz), 2nd #03 Coty Smith, 3rd #01 Stuart Johnson, 4th #13 Rene Panasiuk.

Hobby stocks – 1st #11T Tyson Crowe, 2nd #24 Murray Koethler, 3rd #5 Destiny Klym, 4th #7 Carson Crowe.

Street stocks – 1st #5K Stefan Klym, 2nd #23 Troy Hunter, 3rd #86 Bradley Kehler, 4th #41 Cole Wall.


Page 154 of 163